Board of Commissioners

Board of Commissioners

The Board

The seven-member Board of Commissioners is the governing body of Forsyth County. Partisan elections are held in November of even numbered years. The Board members serve four-year staggered terms. Each December, the Board elects its Chair and Vice Chair.

Six of the Commissioners are elected from two multi-member districts and one is elected at large. Four Commissioners are elected from District B and two from District A. View the District Map.

Board Meetings

Regular meetings of the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners will be held on Thursdays at 2:00 p.m. in the Commissioners' Meeting Room on the fifth floor of the Forsyth County Government Center located at 201 N. Chestnut Street, Winston-Salem, North Carolina on the following dates: January 18, February 1, February 15, March 1, March 15, March 29, April 12, April 26, May 10, May 29, June 7, June 21, July 19, August 2, August 16, September 6, September 20, October 4, October 18, November 1, November 15, December 3, December 6, and December 20, 2018. The meetings are open to the public and citizens are encouraged to attend.

The meetings and briefings, held on Thursdays, are broadcast live at 2:00 p.m. on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast on WSTV - The Government Channel the following Friday at 2:00 p.m., Sunday at 2:00 p.m. and Tuesday at 9:00 a.m. They are also rebroadcast on Spectrum Channel 2 the following Monday at 6:00 p.m., Tuesday at 12:00 p.m. and Wednesday at 9:00 a.m.

Board Duties

The Board of Commissioners’ major responsibilities include adopting the annual County budget, setting the County property tax rate, establishing County policies and acting on zoning and other land use matters. The Board also appoints members of numerous citizen boards, committees and commissions.

Work for Us

Employment Opportunities

Job Opportunities

Volunteer Opportunities

Open Appointments List

County Services

Reserve a Park Facility Online
Pollen Report