Committee Details

Back to List

Social Services Board



Under the provisions of G.S. 108-9, 10, and 11, the Forsyth County Board if Social Services is composed of five (5) members, the number of members having been increased from three (3) to five (5) by the Board of Commissioners as authorized by the 1963 Legislature. Members serve 3-year staggered terms. No member may serve more than two consecutive terms, except the limitation does not apply if the member of the social services board was a member of the board of county commissioners at any time during the first two consecutive terms, and is a member of the board of county commissioners at the time of re-appointment. (This became effective July 2, 1981.)
Blank Line
Board increased from three (3) to five (5) members by Board of Commissioners at meeting 7-1-63.


Fourth Wednesday each month -- 8:00 a.m. -- 5th Floor, Multipurpose Room, DSS Building, 741 N. Highland Avenue, Winston-Salem, NC.

Open Appointments

The following appointments are open for applicants:

Capacity and Additional Information
Deadline to Apply
No data to display

District Map

District Map

District A
Everette Witherspoon - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
Walter Marshall - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
District B
Richard V. Linville - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Don Martin - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
David R. Plyler - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Gloria D. Whisenhunt - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
At Large
Ted Kaplan - Term Expires: Dec. 2018

Forsyth County Code

The County Code is the official record of ordinances adopted by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners. By clicking on the link below, you will be able to access an online copy of the County Code.

Please note that when you click on this link, you will be leaving the Forsyth County website and entering a website owned and operated by Municipal Code Corporation, also known as “Municode.” The County Code displayed on the Municode site is updated annually and, therefore, may not contain recently approved ordinances.

View the Forsyth County Code

TV Broadcast Schedule

View our TV Broadcast on the Government Channel The Commissioner's meetings, held on Mondays, are broadcast live at 6:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the following Tuesday at 9:00 AM and the following Wednesday at 9:00 pm.

The Commissioner's briefings, held on Thursdays, are broadcast live at 2:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the same day at 6:00 pm.