Back to List

Equalization and Review Board -- 2016


The Board of Equalization and Review is established upon resolution by the Forsyth County Commissioners for the purpose of handling matters involving the listing and assessing of appraised property in Forsyth County. The Board has the duty to review the tax lists for the current year, change the listing or appraisal of property as necessary in accordance with North Carolina General Statutes, and to hear appeals brought by property owners regarding assessed values, exemptions and deferments.
Blank Line
The goal of the Board is the accurate and fair listing and assessing of property in Forsyth County as required and in accordance with North Carolina General Statutes.
Blank Line
The Board holds scheduled public hearings in the Board of Equalization and Review room located on the first floor of the Government Center located at 201 North Chestnut Street in Winston-Salem. These meetings are used to conduct public hearings and issue decisions regarding the listing and appraisal of property in Forsyth County.


The Board consists of five members who are appointed for a one year term by the Board of Commissioners. The composition of the Board should include individuals from a spectrum of vocations and professions including, but not limited to, real estate appraisal, accounting, real estate brokerage/sales, law or other specialties related to real estate, business and personal property valuation.

Currently Serving

Term Expires
Ms. Marybeth Abdow   
Mr. John T Burgiss Tax Assessor 
Mr. Richard N Davis   
Mr. W. Harvey Pardue   
Mr. David E Shaw   
Mr. William V White   


The Board must convene between the first Monday in April and the first Monday in May of each calendar year and will continue to meet as necessary to hear timely filed property appeals. The Board must complete all business by the end of March of the following calendar year. There are normally eight to fifteen meetings per year usually held on the second Thursday of each month from 3:00pm to 5:00pm.

Other Information


District Map

District Map

District A
Everette Witherspoon - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
Walter Marshall - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
District B
Richard V. Linville - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Don Martin - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
David R. Plyler - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Gloria D. Whisenhunt - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
At Large
Ted Kaplan - Term Expires: Dec. 2018

Forsyth County Code

The County Code is the official record of ordinances adopted by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners. By clicking on the link below, you will be able to access an online copy of the County Code.

Please note that when you click on this link, you will be leaving the Forsyth County website and entering a website owned and operated by Municipal Code Corporation, also known as “Municode.” The County Code displayed on the Municode site is updated annually and, therefore, may not contain recently approved ordinances.

View the Forsyth County Code

TV Broadcast Schedule

View our TV Broadcast on the Government Channel The Commissioner's meetings, held on Mondays, are broadcast live at 6:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the following Tuesday at 9:00 AM and the following Wednesday at 9:00 pm.

The Commissioner's briefings, held on Thursdays, are broadcast live at 2:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the same day at 6:00 pm.