Back to List

SciWorks Board of Directors


The SciWorks Board of Directors was established in 1964 with the incorporation of the Nature Science Center as a private, 501c3 organization. The Board of Directors is the governing body of the organization and establishes policy and direction for SciWorks. It provides oversight to the activities of SciWorks and evaluates how well the organization carries out its mission. The Board of Directors is responsible for the overall financial well-being of SciWorks.

Members and Non-Voting Staff Person(s)

The Board of Directors consists of no more than 40 elected members. Members serve 3-year terms beginning on July 1 and expiring on June 30 of the third year following election. In addition, under terms of a lease between SciWorks and Forsyth County, the County shall have representation on the Board of Directors including one (1) County Liaison appointed by the County Commissioners without term limits plus three (3) County Delegates nominated by the County Commissioners and approved by the SciWorks Board of Directors. The City of Winston-Salem also appoints one (1) City Liaison under SciWorks bylaws.

Currently Serving

NameTitleTerm Expires
Ms. Victoria M Fulton 6/30/2018
Ms. Johanna P Kelley 6/30/2019
Mr. Paul Kortenaar Staff
Dr. Donald L Martin Jr.
Ms. JoAnn S White 6/30/2019


The Board of Directors meets quarterly. The Executive Committee of the Board meets the months that the full Board does not. Meetings are held at SciWorks. Much of the work of the Board of Directors is performed in committees. The chairperson of each committee is a member of the Executive Committee.

Other Information

Work for Us

Employment Opportunities

Job Opportunities

Volunteer Opportunities

Open Appointments List

County Services

Stay Rabies Free.  Avoid Wildlife.
Protect your pet from rabies.