Back to List

Tourism Development Authority, Forsyth County


The authority for establishing the Forsyth County Tourism Development Authority is Chapter 908 of the 1983 Session Laws. The purpose of the Authority is to further the development of travel, tourism, and conventions in the county through state, national, and international advertising and promotion.


There are nine voting members of the board. Each member serves a three-year term for initial terms which vary from one to three years. The members are appointed as follows:  four members by the City Council upon the recommendation of the Mayor, four members by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners, and one member by the Winston-Salem Chamber of Commerce.

Currently Serving

NameTitleTerm Expires
Dr. Vivian H Burke
Ms. Summer N Combs 10/30/2016
Ms. RaVonda Dalton-Rann Vice Chair 10/31/2015
Mr. James T Ferrell 10/30/2018
Mr. Paul L Fulton Staff
Mr. Richard Geiger Administrator
Ms. Liz W Guertin Staff
Mr. Jim Keller 11/30/2016
Mr. Walter W Pitt Jr. TDA Attorney
Mr. Joseph W Potter 10/31/2016
Mr. Richard E Shore, Jr Chairman 10/31/2016
Ms. Gloria D Whisenhunt
Mr. James Williams 10/30/2015


The board meets the third Tuesday of each month at 2:00 p.m. at a location to be announced.

Other Information

Work for Us

Employment Opportunities

Job Opportunities

Volunteer Opportunities

Open Appointments List

County Services

Is your child eligible for a Free physical assessment?
Open Your Home and Your Heart . . . Adopt a Child