Back to List

Zoning Board of Adjustment, Winston-Salem


The Winston-Salem Zoning Board of Adjustment is governed by the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County zoning ordinance known as the Unified Development Ordinance (“UDO”) and by state statutes. The Board has three main functions: 1) consideration of applications for special use permits; 2) consideration of applications for variances; and 3) rendering decisions on appeals of interpretations of the UDO and appeals of the decisions of the Historic Resources Commission and County Housing Administrator. The majority of the Special Use Permit applications are to place manufactured homes in residential zoning districts. Variances are requests for exceptions to the zoning ordinance, such as placing a building closer to the street than the required front yard setback.
Blank Line
This Board is quasi-judicial and conducts public hearings with sworn testimony. The Board makes findings of fact and applies the relevant local and state law when granting or denying applications. Appeals from this Board's decisions are heard by the Superior Court.


The Winston-Salem Zoning Board of Adjustment is composed of five (5) regular and two (2) alternate members appointed by the Mayor and City Council. In addition, one (1) regular and one (1) alternate member are appointed by the Board of County Commissioners, upon recommendation of the City Council, from residents located outside of, but within one mile of, the City limits, said members to have the same powers, duties and responsibilities as all other members. Members serve 3-year terms.

Currently Serving

Term Expires
Mr. Steven C Fowler  10/30/2017
Mr. Gregory C Hairston Vice Chairman9/30/2017
Mr. Joseph S Hamby  10/30/2017
Mr. Cory H Howard  10/30/2017
Mr. Christopher B Leak Chairman10/31/2014
Mr. Chris Murphy Inspection's Assistant Director 
Rev. Joseph L Nance  10/31/2016
Ms. Carol S Nault  10/30/2017
Mr. Stan Przybylowicz  9/30/2017
Vacant  10/31/2014


Board meetings are held on the first Thursday of each month at 2:00 P.M. in the Public Meeting Room at the Bryce A. Stuart Municipal Building, 100 E. First Street, Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

Other Information

Applications to appear before the Board may be made in the City/County Inspections Division office located in suite 328 of the Bryce A. Stuart Municipal Building. Applications must be made 20 days before a meeting.
Blank Line
For more information, please call the City/County Inspections Division at 727-2728.


District Map

District Map

District A
Everette Witherspoon - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
Walter Marshall - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
District B
Richard V. Linville - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Don Martin - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
David R. Plyler - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Gloria D. Whisenhunt - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
At Large
Ted Kaplan - Term Expires: Dec. 2018

Forsyth County Code

The County Code is the official record of ordinances adopted by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners. By clicking on the link below, you will be able to access an online copy of the County Code.

Please note that when you click on this link, you will be leaving the Forsyth County website and entering a website owned and operated by Municipal Code Corporation, also known as “Municode.” The County Code displayed on the Municode site is updated annually and, therefore, may not contain recently approved ordinances.

View the Forsyth County Code

TV Broadcast Schedule

View our TV Broadcast on the Government Channel The Commissioner's meetings, held on Mondays, are broadcast live at 6:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the following Tuesday at 9:00 AM and the following Wednesday at 9:00 pm.

The Commissioner's briefings, held on Thursdays, are broadcast live at 2:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the same day at 6:00 pm.