2020 CANDIDATE FILING INFORMATION FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

(Filing Opens – December 2, 2019 at Noon -- Filing Closes – December 20, 2019 at Noon)* (Soil and Water - Filing opens – June 08, 2020 at Noon – Filing Closes - July 2, 2020 at Noon) Fling Fees Updated per State Board of Elections 11.15.2019

OFFICE	<u>SEATS</u>	INCUMBENT	LENGTH OF TERM	LOCATION	FIL	ING
US Senate	1	Thom Tillis (R)	6 years	State BOE	\$ 1	,740
US House of Representatives						
5 th District	1	Virginia Foxx (R)	2 years	State BOE	\$ 1	,740
(Alexander, Alleghar	ıy, Ashe, A	Avery, Forsyth, Stokes, Surry, V	Vatauga, Wilkes and part o	f Catawba)		
State Senate						
31 st District	1	Joyce Krawiec (R)	2 years	County BOE	\$	140
32 nd District	1	Paul A. Lowe (D)	2 years	County BOE	\$	140
State House						
71 st District	1	Evelyn Terry (D)	2 years	County BOE	\$	140
72 nd District	1	Derwin Montgomery (D)	2 years	County BOE	\$	140
73 rd District	1	Lee Zachary(R)	2 years	County BOE	\$	140
74 th District	1	Debra Conrad (R)	2 years	County BOE	\$	140
75 th District	1	Donny Lambeth (R)	2 years	County BOE	\$	140
Superior Court Judge – 21B	1	David L. Hall (NP)	8 years	State BOE	\$ 1	,386
Superior Court Judge – 21D	1	L. Todd Burke (NP)	8 years	State BOE		,386
District Court Judge – 21 st District	1	Camille Banks Prince (NP)	4 years	State BOE	\$ 1	,220
District Court Judge – 21 st District	1	Lawrence Fine (NP)	4 years	State BOE		,220
District Court Judge – 21 st District	1	Laurie Hutchins (NP)	4 years	State BOE		,220
District Court Judge – 21 st District	1	Gordon Miller (NP)	4 years	State BOE		,220
District Court Judge – 21 st District	1	Victoria Roemer (NP)	4 years	State BOE		,220
District Court Judge – 21 st District	1	David Sipprell (NP)	4 years	State BOE		,220
District Court Judge – 21 st District	1	Carrie Vickery (NP)	4 years	State BOE		,220
Clerk of Superior Court (Unexpired Term)	1	Renita Thompkins Linville (D)	2 years	County BOE	\$ 1	,275
County Commissioner – District B	1	Richard Linville (R)	4 years	County BOE	\$	205
	1	Dave Plyler (R)	4 years	County BOE	\$	205
	1	Gloria D. Whisenhunt (R)	4 years	County BOE	\$	205
County Register of Deeds	1	Lynne Johnson (D)	4 years	County BOE	\$	784
Soil and Water						_
Conservation District Supervisor	1	Timothy (Tim) Disher (NP)	4 years	County BOE	\$	5
Winston Salem Mayor	1	Allen Joines (D)	4 years	County BOE	\$	5
Winston Salem City Council						
North Ward	1	Denise Adams (D)	4 years	County BOE	\$	5
Northeast Ward	1	Vivian Burke (D)	4 years	County BOE	\$	5
East Ward	1	Annette Scippio (D)	4 years	County BOE	\$	5
Southeast Ward	1	James Taylor, Jr. (Ď)	4 years	County BOE	\$	5
South Ward	1	John Larson (D)	4 years	County BOE	\$	5
Southwest Ward	1	Daniel Besse (Ď)	4 years	County BOE	\$	5
West Ward	1	Robert Clark (R)	4 years	County BOE	\$	5
Northwest Ward	1	Jeffrey MacIntosh (D)	4 years	County BOE	\$	5

REGISTRATION DEADLINES

Primary Election – February 07, 2020

General Election – October 09, 2020

QUALIFICATIONS TO HOLD OFFICE

Registered Voter 1.

2. Twenty-one (21) years of age; NC Const., Art. VI, sec. 6 (Exceptions - 25 years of age - State Senate; NC Const., Art. II, Sec. 6).

Affiliated with political party for 90 days by date of filing Notice of Candidacy (i.e. if filing on last day of filing period, party affiliation must have been 3. changed by September 21, 2019)

Residency Requirement (State Senate - 2 years in State, 1 year in district, NC Const., Art. II, Sec. 6); (State House, 1 year in district, NC Const., 4. Art. II, Sec. 7); County Commissioner and Superior Court Judges must reside in the district; Congress - NC resident, residence not required in the district.

**The filing fee is calculated by one percent of the annual starting salary of the office.

*** Deadline for all candidates to withdraw Notice of Candidacy - December 17, 2019

****Deadline for Soil and Water candidates to withdraw Notice of Candidacy - June 29, 2020