Board of Commissioners

Board of Commissioners

The Board

The seven-member Board of Commissioners is the governing body of Forsyth County. Partisan elections are held in November of even numbered years. The Board members serve four-year staggered terms. Each December, the Board elects its Chair and Vice Chair.

Six of the Commissioners are elected from two multi-member districts and one is elected at large. Four Commissioners are elected from District B and two from District A. View the District Map.

Board Meetings

The Board of Commissioners holds two business meetings each month on the 2nd and 4th Mondays. The meetings are held in the County Commissioners Meeting Room on the fifth floor of the Forsyth County Government Center. The Government Center is located at 201 N. Chestnut St. in Winston-Salem, NC. The meetings are open to the public and citizens are encouraged to attend. The meetings are also televised live on Cable Channel 13 and rerun twice on a regular schedule.

The Commissioners also hold briefing sessions every Thursday afternoon at 2:00 PM in the County Commissioners Meeting Room. These meetings are also open to the public and televised live and rerun twice on a regular schedule. These meetings are intended to provide detailed information to the Board Members regarding future agenda items and to provide other important information relating to County operations. These are not official meetings of the Board and no formal action is taken on any subject.

Board Duties

The Board of Commissioners’ major responsibilities include adopting the annual County budget, setting the County property tax rate, establishing County policies and acting on zoning and other land use matters. The Board also appoints members of numerous citizen boards, committees and commissions.

Work for Us

Employment Opportunities

Job Opportunities

Volunteer Opportunities

Open Appointments List

County Services

Is your child eligible for a Free physical assessment?
Tax bill paid?  Look it up online.