BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FORSYTH COUNTY GOVERNMENT CENTER WINSTON-SALEM, NC 27101

DAVID R. PLYLER
Chairman
DEBRA CONRAD
Vice Chair
BEAUFORT O. BAILEY
TED KAPLAN
RICHARD V. LINVILLE
WALTER MARSHALL
GLORIA D. WHISENHUNT

Agenda Summary



DECEMBER 6, 2010 - GOVERNMENT CENTER - 6:00 P.M.

Commissioners Beaufort Bailey and Ted Kaplan were absent from the meeting.

1. PUBLIC SESSION

Persons who wish to speak concerning items on this agenda, or who wish to speak about a matter relating to County Government (other than a public hearing matter on this agenda), should complete a speaker card and hand it to the Clerk before the meeting begins. It is not necessary to complete a card if you are going to speak about a public hearing matter on this agenda. The Chair may limit the number of speakers on a topic relating to future advertised public hearing matters. Speakers are limited to three (3) minutes each. The public session will be limited to 30 minutes.

One person thanked the Board for their service and one person spoke regarding Forsyth County Animal Control.

2. Year-End Review by Chairman Plyler

Chairman Plyler summarized the Board's activities for the past year (2010). A copy of the comments is on file in the office of the Clerk to the Board.

3. Transfer of all Pending Business to Successor Board

Motion for Approval: Second:

Commissioner Marshall Commissioner Conrad

Unanimously Approved

4. Administration of Oath of Office by the Honorable Victoria L. Roemer, District Court Judge, for County Commissioner Debra Conrad

The Honorable Victoria L. Roemer, District Court Judge, administered the oath to Commissioner Debra Conrad.

5. Administration of Oath of Office by the Honorable Denise S. Hartsfield, District Court Judge, for County Commissioner Walter Marshall

The Honorable Denise S. Hartsfield, District Court Judge, administered the oath to Commissioner Walter Marshall.

6. Administration of Oath of Office by the Honorable William Graham, District Court Judge, for County Commissioner William H. (Bill) Whiteheart

The Honorable William Graham, District Court Judge, administered the oath to Commissioner William H. (Bill) Whiteheart.

7. Administration of Oath of Office by the Honorable Camille Banks-Payne, District Court Judge, for County Commissioner Everette Witherspoon, Jr.

The Honorable Camille Banks-Payne, District Court Judge, administered the oath to Commissioner Everette Witherspoon, Jr.

8. Administration of Oath of Office by the Honorable Victoria L. Roemer, District Court Judge, for Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor Toby Bost

The Honorable Victoria L. Roemer, District Court Judge, administered the oath to Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor Toby Bost.

9. Administration of Oath of Office by the Honorable Victoria L. Roemer, District Court Judge, for Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor Kevin Briggs

The Honorable Victoria L. Roemer, District Court Judge, administered the oath to Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor Kevin Briggs.

10. Election of Chairman

Commissioner Richard V. Linville was elected Chairman by acclamation for the ensuing year.

11. Election of Vice Chairman

Commissioner Debra Conrad was elected Vice Chair by majority vote for the ensuing year.

12. Approval of Report on Bonds for Various Public County Officials

Motion for Approval:
Second:
Commissioner Whisenhunt
Commissioner Whiteheart
Unanimously Approved

13. Commissioners' Comments

Each Commissioner thanked their colleagues and the citizens of Forsyth County for their trust and support and wished everyone a joyous holiday season.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion for Adjournment: Second: Unanimously Approved Commissioner Plyler Commissioner Marshall Assistance for Disabled Persons will be Provided with 48 hours Notification to the Clerk to the Board at (336) 703-2020