

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Board Meeting Agenda June 16, 2022 – 5:00 p.m.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence

Persons who wish to speak concerning items on this agenda, or who wish to speak about a matter relating to Forsyth County elections should complete a speaker card and hand it to the Clerk before the meeting is called to order.

- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Approval of Meeting Minutes
- 6. Appointment of MAT members
- 7. Discussion of One Stop Early Voting Plan for 2022 General Election
- 8. Other Business
- 9. Closed Session (if necessary)
- 10. Adjournment

Meeting Minutes June 16, 2022 – 5:00 p.m.

Meeting Called to Order

A regular meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order in the 2nd floor Board Room on Thursday, June 16, 2022 at **5:00** p.m., Chairperson Robert Durrah, Jr. presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairperson Robert Durrah, Jr., Secretary Catherine Jourdan, Member Alfred Harvey, Member Adam Draper, Member Chad Doomy-not present

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tim Tsujii, Deputy Director Michelle Bobadilla, Adam Clark, Louise Lash, Tricia Starkey

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairperson Robert Durrah led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairperson Robert Durrah led a moment of silence.

Public Comments

Chairperson Robert Durrah called for public comments, providing two minutes per speaker:

Annette Scippio: 101 N Main St., Winston-Salem, NC 27101

Phillip Carter: 965 Mt. Zion, Winston-Salem, NC 27101

Anne Wilson: 445 Marshall View Ct., Winston-Salem, NC 27101

Member Harvey moved to close public comments; Member Draper seconded. Motion carried 4-0.

Approval of Meeting Minutes

Member Draper moved to approve the meeting minutes for May 17th, May 26th, and May 27th, 2022 as submitted; Member Harvey seconded; **Motion carried 4-0.**

Mrs. Lash presented 5 MAT Team member names to be approved. These individuals were trained and eligible to serve as MAT Team members for 2 years through 6/15/2024: Deborah Jordan, Xavier Carter, Donald Dunn, Mary Hargraves, Carma Buchanan. Member Draper moved to approve the 5 Forsyth County Board of Elections MAT Team members; Secretary Jourdan seconded; **Motion carried 4-0**.

Discussion of One Stop Early Voting Plan for 2022 General Election

Director Tsujii presented One-Stop Early Voting data and statistics to the Board for review.

The Board held a discussion on proposed One-Stop Early Voting sites. The use of the Government Center site was discussed as parking and traffic are issues with ongoing construction. The Board directed Director Tsujii to obtain additional information on other area locations to use in place of the Government Center if needed. Both the Anderson Center and Rupert Bell were discussed as possible sites. General consensus of at least 12 sites at this time with future discussion of at least 2 sites. The sites that had a general consensus thus far are: Paddison Memorial Library (Kernersville), Rural Hall Library, Lewisville Library, Southside Library, Brown Douglas Recreation Center, Mazie Woodruff Center, Miller Park Recreation Center, Old Town Recreation Center, and Clemmons Library.

Board Recess:

Chairperson Robert Durrah, Jr. called for the Board to recess at 6:16 p.m.

Board Reconvene:

Chairperson Robert Durrah, Jr. called for the Board to reconvene at 6:24 p.m.

The Board discussed One-Stop Early Voting dates and times. General consensus of 15 total days of One-Stop Early Voting starting on Thursday, October 20, 2022 and ending on Saturday, November 5,2022. These dates include the last two Saturday's with hours from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. and the second Sunday with hours from 12 p.m. to 5p.m.

Director Tsujii presented the Board will possible future meeting dates. Member Harvey moved to approve meeting dates of July 12th and 19th at 5:00 p.m.; Member Draper seconded. **Motion carried 4-0.**

Adjournment:

Chairperson Durrah moved to adjourn; Member Harvey seconded. Motion carried 4-0. Meeting adjourned at 6:49 p.m.

s:/Robert Durrah, Jr.

Chairperson

s:/Catherine Jourdan

Secretary

s:/Alfred Harvey

Member

s:/Adam Draper

Member