Committee Details

Back to List

Forsyth County Juvenile Crime Prevention Council


The General Assembly enacted legislation that transferred the Divisions of Youth Services and Juvenile Services to the Office of the Governor. The legislation established the Office of Juvenile Justice and transferred all authority, powers, duties, and functions of the Juvenile Services Division to the Office of Juvenile Justice. It is the responsibility of the Office of Juvenile Justice to coordinate with county Juvenile Crime Prevention Councils for implementation of a continuum of services and programs at the community level to develop comprehensive juvenile delinquency and substance abuse prevention plans.


General Statute 143B-846 requires the Board of County Commissioners to appoint a Juvenile Crime Prevention Council prior receiving funds for juvenile court services and delinquency prevention programs.
Blank Line
The law requires that the following individuals serve on or be represented on the Council for two-year terms:

  1. School Superintendent or Designee
  2. Chief of Police
  3. Sheriff or Designee
  4. District Attorney or Designee
  5. Chief Court Counselor or Designee
  6. Director of the local mental health, developmental disabilities, and substance abuse program or Designee
  7. Director of the Department of Social Services or Designee
  8. County Manager or Designee
  9. Substance Abuse Professional
  10. Member of Faith Community
  11. County Commissioner
  12. 2 Persons Under Age 18, one of whom is a member of the State Youth Council
  13. Juvenile Defense Attorney
  14. Chief District Court Judge
  15. Member of Business Community
  16. Local Health Director or Designee
  17. Representative of United Way or Other Nonprofit Agency
  18. Representative of Local Parks
  19. Seven (7) At Large

Blank Line
The Juvenile Crime Prevention Council, after approval by the full Council, shall submit a funding proposal to the Forsyth County Board of Commissioner for their approval.
Blank Line
The Board of Commissioners encourages that every effort be made in making the "At Large" appointments to ensure that the appointees are representative of the racial and socioeconomic diversity of the community represented herein, and to minimize potential conflicts of interest by members.
Blank Line
Each member shall serve a term of two years with no term limitation. Terms of appointment shall be for the fiscal year July 1 - June 30. The Council shall annually elect the Chair and Vice Chair.
Blank Line
The Juvenile Crime Prevention Council may also provide leadership to focus community attention and energy on the positive and health development of children and youth from birth through age 21 through the creation and implementation of community policies and initiatives that support young people and their families.
Blank Line
The Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners is authorized to execute the Juvenile Crime Prevention Council Certification on behalf of Forsyth County.


Regular meetings shall be held bi-monthly on dates designated at the first meeting of the year at a location to be determined.

Open Appointments

The following appointments are open for applicants:

Capacity and Additional Information
Deadline to Apply
No data to display

District Map

District Map

District A
Everette Witherspoon - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
Walter Marshall - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
District B
Richard V. Linville - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Don Martin - Term Expires: Dec. 2018
David R. Plyler - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
Gloria D. Whisenhunt - Term Expires: Dec. 2016
At Large
Ted Kaplan - Term Expires: Dec. 2018

Forsyth County Code

The County Code is the official record of ordinances adopted by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners. By clicking on the link below, you will be able to access an online copy of the County Code.

Please note that when you click on this link, you will be leaving the Forsyth County website and entering a website owned and operated by Municipal Code Corporation, also known as “Municode.” The County Code displayed on the Municode site is updated annually and, therefore, may not contain recently approved ordinances.

View the Forsyth County Code

TV Broadcast Schedule

View our TV Broadcast on the Government Channel The Commissioner's meetings, held on Mondays, are broadcast live at 6:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the following Tuesday at 9:00 AM and the following Wednesday at 9:00 pm.

The Commissioner's briefings, held on Thursdays, are broadcast live at 2:00 pm on WSTV 13 - The Government Channel. They are rebroadcast the same day at 6:00 pm.