• By Mia Jordan
  • Posted Wednesday, October 4, 2023

Talking Sticks: Native Tools of Democracy

Thursday, Nov. 9 from 5-6 p.m.
In the Central Library's Teen Central

The talking stick is a tool used by many Indigenous cultures to ensure that people are respectful of one another at meetings. The stick is passed around the group and whoever holds the stick has the right to speak. Everyone else must listen quietly to the speaker and patiently wait for their own turn to hold the floor.

Join us as we celebrate Native American Heritage Month by learning more about this fascinating tradition. There will be examples of talking sticks on display and we will make our own to keep.

Ages 9-18 are welcome. No registration is required. This program is presented by Wake Forest University's Lam Museum of Anthropology.

All Forsyth County Public Library programs are free and open to the public.

County Services

Computer Training Bridge
Getting Married?  Complete your worksheet online.

Contact Us

336-703-BOOK (2665)
Email: Contact Us
Hours of Operation
Monday-Thursday 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Friday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m
Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Holiday Closings
Monday, January 1 - New Year's Day
Monday, January 15 - Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday
Friday, March 29 - Good Friday
Monday, May 27 - Memorial Day
Thursday, July 4 - Independence Day
Monday, September 2 - Labor Day
Monday, November 11 - Veteran's Day
Thursday, November 28 - Thanksgiving
Friday, November 29 - Thanksgiving
Tuesday, December 24 - Christmas holiday begins
Wednesday, December 25 - Christmas
Thursday, December 26 - Christmas