• By Todd Luck
  • Posted Tuesday, March 5, 2019

Five-member Forsyth County Board of Elections takes oath

Members of the five-member Forsyth County Board of Elections (BOE) took their oath during an organizational meeting on Tuesday, March 5.

The board added a fifth member, Catherine Jourdan, to its ranks as Clerk of Court Susan Frye administered the oaths. Returning board members Susan Campbell, Stuart Russell, Robert Durrah Jr and John Loughridge also renewed their oaths.

“We really appreciate this awesome responsibility you’ve given us,” Campbell told attendees.

State and county election boards in North Carolina must now have five members due to the most recent change in state law. The Forsyth County Republican and Democratic parties nominated two members each to the local board, which were approved by the State BOE, and the Governor appointed Campbell as the chair. After being sworn in, Durrah was chosen as the board’s secretary by his fellow board members.

Forsyth BOE is responsible for conducting all elections held in Forsyth County. Board members serve two year terms, which means their tenures will include this year’s municipal elections to be held for municipalities outside of Winston-Salem, along with next year’s elections in 2020.

The board regularly meets the third Thursday of each month at 5 p.m. on the second floor of the Forsyth County Government Center, 201 N. Chestnut Street, with the exception of next month when it’ll meet on April 11 at the same time and place.

Work with Us

Employment Opportunities

Job Opportunities

Volunteer Opportunities

Open Appointments List